Do You Think Dirty?

Get your mind out of the gutter! I am not talking about that! After ready a blog post about the Think Dirty App my thoughts about my beauty products have changed.

The Think Dirty App is “the easiest way to learn about the potentially toxic ingredients in your cosmetics and personal care products. It’s an independent source that allows you to compare products as you shop. Just scan the product barcode and Think Dirty will give you easy-to-understand info on the product, its ingredients, and cleaner options.”

This App scans products barcodes and gives you an over all rating on a scale of 0-10 and n/r. A 10 is the worse. This app also breaks down each ingredient and gives them a 1-10 rating too. It lists each ingredient in the products and tells you their usage, health impacts, warnings, and the sources of when they got that information.

When I read the blog I was thinking oh I wonder what my products will be? But, I also thought ohhh I rather not know. In the end curiosity got the cat I downloaded the App.

I started scanning my everyday products and was shocked at the numbers that were coming up. I first thought oh my goodness I am not using these anymore! Here is a list of products I scanned.

Aussie Sprunch Mousse + Leave-In Conditioner  Rating: 10
It’s a 10 Miracle Leave in Conditioner plus Keratin  Rating: 9
Beauty Protector & Detangle Spray  Rating: 9
Neutrogena Clear Pore Cleanser Mask  Rating: 10
Garnier Fructis Pure Clean Shampoo Rating: 9
Secret Invisible Solid Anti-Perspirant Shower Fresh Rating: 9
Neutrogena Acne Stress Control Triple Action Toner Rating: 10
Crest Liquid Gel Plus Scope Minty Fresh Rating: 7
Matrix Biolage Color Care Shampoo Rating: 10
Simple Eye Makeup Remover Pads Rating: 10
Simple Cleansing Facial Wipes Rating: 10

I was most shocked about the Simple products. They are exposed to be less chemicals for sensitive skin.

The awesome thing about this app is it suggests different products to buy. I believe you can buy the suggestions through Amazon too.

In the end my thoughts about the app is I will use it but I will still use the products I like. If I find something with a lower rating that I like more, than I’ll switch. I guess I might be a little desensitized since everything we do such as going out in the sun or eating non-organic is bad for us.

What are your thoughts about this app? Are you going to download it?

One Comment Add yours

  1. jstfunin says:

    Hi Ashley! I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award! 🙂 My post is here and along with the instructions on what to do: http://mishmash-musings.com/2014/11/one-lovely-blog-award-2/

    X Shea
    Mishmash-musings.com

Leave a Reply

