Why I wear Make-Up

I recently saw a post come through my news feed on Facebook pretty much saying stop putting pounds of make-up on. It just makes you look worse and shows you’re not confident in your true beauty. For me that couldn’t be farther from the truth. I wear make-up because I love it. I look at a lip stick or eyeshadow and can just envision the look I want to create.IMG_5558

Do I wear make-up everyday? No maybe three or four times a week.
I find it a creative out look. I cannot draw to save my soul but I love to be creative. This is my way to be creative.

Do I wear “pounds” of make-up? No I really try to make my skin to look like I’m not wearing any make-up. I sometimes go crazy with my eye make-up. But if I have a dark eye I have a nude lip. It’s all about balance.

Do I wear make-up because there are things I don’t like about my skin? Yes for some reason when I was 24 my skin became its worst it’s ever been with breakouts. A year later I am still struggling with breakouts and scaring. It’s not as bad as it was but still annoys me.

I love how make-up can make you feel better. When I am sad, stressed, or sick I will put on make-up as a way to force myself to feel better. I especially do this if I’ve been sick for a few days and just want to feel better. I’ll put just a little bit of make-up on to start to feel normal again.

I was watching a vlog by MoreZoella on YouTube and she was taking about that your skin doesn’t define you and why she wears make-up. I agree with her on why she loves make-up and I agree you skin doesn’t define you. Her vlog is kind of long so if you want to hear her talk about loving your skin watch from 10:30 on. For anyone who watched Zoe’s vlog. Here’s my #barefacedandwhat picture!IMG_5612

We all have different reasons for wearing make-up or not wearing make-up. It doesn’t make anyone better or worse of a person. Just remember no one should make up feel bad for being you!
~Ashley

If you want to hear more from me during the week then…

Like my Facebook page: Oh for the Love of Beauty

Follow me on Twitter: agerth

Follow me on Instagram: aagerth

One Comment Add yours

  1. Katalin says:

    I share your sentiments on wearing makeup. And you look LOVELY both with and without it!!!

Leave a Reply

